Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

crime novel of the year

Roll out the red carpet – it’s time for our favourite kind of award season!

The shortlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction has been announced, and now the longlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award has been revealed, too.

The prize is in its 17th year and is the UK’s most prestigious crime novel award.

The winner will be announced at the opening evening of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival on 22 July.

Even better, if you have a favourite on the longlist and want to boost its chance of getting on the shortlist, then you’re welcome to vote for it on the website.

This year’s longlist includes the usual suspects of Ian Rankin, Steve Cavanagh, Val McDermid, Lucy Foley and Mark Billingham as well as rising stars in the genre.

It also promises to transport readers all over the world, from California to Calcutta.

The longlist

The shortlist will be announced in June so get your vote in now!

For more from the “Friend” Fiction team, click here.

Abigail Phillips

Abbie is the newest member of the fiction team at the "Friend." She loves how varied the role is - every day is different and there is always a new story to read. She is keen to work closely with established writers and discover new writers, too.