Women’s Prize For Fiction: Longlist Announced

womens prize for fiction

Good news! The judges for the Women’s Prize For Fiction 2020 have finally announced their longlist.

And it is crammed full of exciting, challenging and entertaining books!

The 16 novels (in alphabetical order by surname) are:

We’re particularly pleased to see the Booker Prize winning “Girl, Woman, Other” by Bernardine Evaristo making an appearance. You might recall that Editor Angela wrote about Bernardine’s win (and the reaction to the announcement it would be shared with literary giant Margaret Atwood).

And who doesn’t love Hilary Mantel? Her novel “Wolf Hall” was voted one of the nation’s favourite historical novels recently. “The Mirror And The Light”, which concludes Mantel’s trilogy about Thomas Cromwell, has been much anticipated here in the “Friend” office!

Have you read any of these? Let us know on our Facebook page, or on Twitter.

About the awards

The Women’s Prize For Fiction celebrates the very best full-length fiction written by women throughout the world.

Novelist and short story writer Kate Mosse co-founded the prize a whopping 25 years ago! Past winners have include Helen Dunmore, Lionel Shriver, Zadie Smith and Barbara Kingsolver.

For more on the Women’s Prize For Fiction, click here.

To read book reviews by the “Friend” team, click here.

Iain McDonald

Iain is Digital Content Editor at the "Friend", making him responsible for managing flow of interesting and entertaining content on the magazine's website and social media channels.